The Role of Media in Nation Building   Leave a comment

Many years ago, my sister and I went to see the movie “Beauty and the Beast”. I was young then.  I was very happy seeing Belle   in the movie –  from the movie theme song to how it was made. I witnessed how the beast was transformed into a wonderful creature by true love. I was imagining myself that I was Belle. Reminiscing, I recalled other stories that were read to us by our pre school teachers. These fairy tales somehow influenced me. In high school, I remember how we studied the works of Jose Rizal. Two of these writings were incorporated in the high school curriculum, “Noli Me Tangere” and “El Filibusterismo”. By the teacher’s regular discussions, interactions and activities  about these writings, somehow it synch into my senses. I remember when I was in mid twenty’s, I was given a difficult task. In one quiet afternoon, when everyone in the office was quietly working in from of PC, I mimic the lines of Sisa in Noli Me Tange…  “Basilio, Crispin where are you?” What about the television? One of my favorites was the commercial of Alice Dixon by many years now, the one with the “ I can feel it”. See, how flexible I am. I can be Belle, Sisa or Alice Dixon. No, it’s not about transformation or some sort of magic. It’s about the influence of media to me and to each of us.

Media influence people on how they think. Man’s thinking is the basis of his actions. Seeing the influence of media on us, it is high time that we consider it a medium in nation building. Media is a tool in helping to mold our people. Every Filipino is creative and we may not be aware that many of us are creative writers.  We can help in our own ways. Brainwashing as it may be but will be beneficial to the country. Below are the suggestions that my mind is asking me to share with all of you:

TV Commercials in molding our people

TV commercials about  the values we want to inculcate to each of us—love of the country, hard work, integrity and honesty, self reliance among others. The commercial must be eye catching and creative—something that can easily be remembered. And must be consistently played to all t.v. stations like every hour and everyday. This task may be a charitable work of t.v. stations owners-for the love of the country.

Reward System

Any good deeds that made a difference as well as exceptional skills must be rewarded. Why not televise the rewarding of these Filipinos? It will inspire others. Media is a good source of inspiration.

Inculcating Values

News papers, magazines, tabloids, books must have a section for inculcating  the values we want for our people.

Nationalism through the Internet

Philippine portals must encourage Internet activities that will slowly but surely inculcate the values we want for every Filipino which includes nationalism.

We can bank on the media in brainwashing our people to do what it takes to succeed. Doing our part and let the creative writers on us influence each of us will help us unite for a common goal. May we challenge the owners of TV stations, newspapers, publishing house, professional journalists and the journalist in each of us in using media as a tool in nation building? Go! Go! Go! Philippines……

Posted March 2, 2011 by writinglyyours in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

